Skip to content
April 27, 2014 / shipwrecksoftware

New app: Speedometer for AutoBike Voyage

Do you have one of the fancy AutoBike Voyage bikes?  It’s a automatically-shifting bicycle from a company at EvolveTheBike.com.  The NuVinci continuously variable transmission automatically and smoothly pops you from one gear-ratio to the next.  You don’t have to bother with shifting; you just have to pedal.

No surprise, the bike has a small computer built in to pick the right gear ratio you should be in.  And that computer has bluetooth!  (Specifically, it does the Bluetooth SPP (RFCOMM); the computer then sends packets of bicycle status data.)

The Speedometer for AutoBike Voyage is a program I wrote to be my new speedometer.  It’s built for Windows Phone 8.1 and for Windows 8.1, and will be available soon (it’s still being certified)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. remichi / Nov 1 2014 11:27 pm

    I have a Asus T100 Windows 8 tablet with Bluetooth 4 option. I recently got a simple rollertrainer for inside bicycle training. If I get a Bluetooth cadence/speed sensor for my bike, can I use this app to give me speed/cadence info?

    • shipwrecksoftware / Nov 2 2014 10:07 am

      Sorry, no, it’s not likely to work. This app is specifically for the one brand of bike, and is unlikely to work with any other device. Out of curiosity, what brand and model of rollertrainer did you get?

Leave a comment